Copernicus Masters 2021

You are here



The Copernicus Masters is the global innovation competition to foster the user uptake of Copernicus applications. It was launched by AZO in 2011 on behalf of the European Space Agency (ESA) with strong support from the European Commission (COM) and world-class partners coming from industry and governmental institutions alike. The success reached by previous winners has demonstrated the Copernicus Masters’ ability to boost the development of businesses in the downstream sector of EO data. Many domains of our society, from infrastructures to agriculture, ecosystem preservation and green energies, benefit from it. With a prize pool of EUR 835,000 in 2021, the Copernicus Masters awards innovators showcasing the benefit of Copernicus services in their solutions.

Who is eligible to participate?

All innovators – individuals of minimum 18 years of age, consortia or legal entities. Universities, start-ups, SMEs and bigger companies, research organisations and associates from all around the globe are invited to join. Check the eligibility criteria for each Challenge or Prize.

Why participate in the Copernicus Masters?

If you have a brilliant idea on how to use Earth observation data to tackle global challenges, from pandemic outbreaks to climate change, from green energies to Big Data analytics, the Copernicus Masters is the right place for you to get support and further develop your solution. Seize this opportunity now!

When can you apply?

The registration and submission phase starts on 19 April 2021 until 19 July 2021. All submissions are evaluated between July and October, and the challenge finalists are named in October/November. Finally, the winners will be announced during the Space Awards in December 2021.