Falkland Islands


Publié le 27 juillet 2020

The Falkland Islands are featured in this radar image captured by the Copernicus Sentinel-1 mission.

The Falkland Islands lie in the South Atlantic Ocean, around 500 km northeast of the southern tip of South America. The Falklands comprise two main islands, West Falkland and East Falkland, as well as hundreds of other smaller islands and islets, which form a total land area approximately five times the size of Luxembourg. The two main islands are separated by the Falkland Sound, a channel that averages around 20 km in width.

Continue reading