ALTIUS

You are here

ALTIUS (Atmospheric Limb Tracker for Investigation of the Upcoming Stratosphere) is a satellite mission initiated by the Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy (BIRA-IASB). Belgium is the greatest contributor to the mission (94% of the total budget) while Canada, Luxembourg and Romania are all together contributing for the last 6%.

Its primary objective is the monitoring of the 3D distribution and evolution of stratospheric ozone at high vertical resolution in support of operational services and for long term trend monitoring.

The secondary objective is to measure aerosols and greenhouse gases. These measures are essential for atmospheric models that calculate consequences of increasing greenhouse gas emissions or the impacts of political decisions to protect our environment.

ALTIUS will be part of the PROBA family. This platform has demonstrated excellent attitude control and agility with previous missions (PROBA-1, PROBA-2, and PROBA-VEGETATION). The embarked instrument will be composed of a Spectral Imager for atmospheric limb observation in 3 spectral channels: UV, VIS, NIR. The launch is expected for 2021.

ALTIUS is developed as an ESA Earth Watch mission. The overall objective of the Earth Watch Initiative is to secure for Europe an independent sustainable capability in operational Earth Observation. This capability must satisfy requirements for operational services supporting both institutional needs and commercial initiatives.

 

ALTIUS: baseline observation geometries and special modes from aeronomie bira-iasb on Vimeo.

ALTIUS

Vous êtes ici

La mission satellitaire ALTIUS (Atmospheric Limb Tracker for the Investigation of the Upcoming Stratosphere) a été initiée par l’Institut royal d’Aéronomie Spatiale de Belgique (IASB). La Belgique est le contributeur principal à la mission (94 % du budget total), tandis que le Canada, le Luxembourg et la Roumanie contribuent aux 6 % restants. 

Son objectif principal est le suivi de la distribution tridimensionnelle de l'ozone stratosphérique à haute résolution verticale. La mission fournira un soutien aux services opérationnels et permettra un suivi des tendances sur le long terme.

Le second objectif de la mission est de mesurer les concentrations de gaz à effet de serre et d'aérosols présentes dans l'atmosphère. Ces mesures sont indispensables aux modèles atmosphériques qui calculent les conséquences de l'augmentation des émissions de gaz à effet de serre ainsi que les impacts des décisions politiques visant à protéger notre environnement.

ALTIUS fera partie de la famille PROBA. Cette plateforme a démontré, lors des missions précédentes (PROBA-1, PROBA-2, et PROBA-VEGETATION), une facilité de contrôle et une très grande agilité. L'instrument embarqué sera composé d'un spectro-imageur destiné à l'observation du limbe atmosphérique dans trois canaux spectraux : Ultra-violet, Visible et Proche Infra-rouge. Le lancement est prévu pour 2021.

ALTIUS est développé en tant que mission Earth Watch de l'ESA. L'objectif principal de l'initiative « Earth Watch » est d'assurer à l'Europe une capacité opérationnelle durable et indépendante en matière d'observation de la Terre. Cette capacité doit satisfaire aux exigences des services opérationnels qui répondent à la fois aux besoins institutionnels et aux initiatives commerciales.

 

ALTIUS: baseline observation geometries and special modes from aeronomie bira-iasb on Vimeo.