Pléiades

You are here

The Pléiades constellation makes up the optical part of the French-Italian Earth observation system called ORFEO (Optical and radar Federated Earth Observation) which aims to provide both civil and military users with high-quality remote sensing data. The radar component is provided by COSMO-SkyMed.

Twin satellites

There are two Pléiades satellites: Pléiades 1A, launched on 17 December 2011, and Pléiades 1B, launched on 02 December 2012. Both are in orbit at an altitude of 694 km, and in such a way that the Earth is always positioned precisely between them. This allows the Pléiades constellation to daily acquire a complete coverage of the Earth.

Both satellites have the same optical instrument on board: HiRI (High-Resolution Imager). This instrument acquires panchromatic images with a resolution of 70 cm, which are then resampled to a 50 cm resolution. At the same time it also acquires multispectral images in 4 bands (blue, green, red and near infrared) with a resolution of 2.80 m, which in turn are resampled to a resolution of 2.00 m. These images can further be combined to a colour image with a resolution of 50 cm.

The collected data can be used in numerous applications: cartography, urban development, agriculture, forestry, geology, hydrology, marine and Earth sciences, management of natural resources, land use...

To stimulate the use of this impressive source of information, the Belgian Science Policy Office has set up a portal that allows authorised users to purchase Pléiades imagery at rock bottom prices, and to download imagery already purchase by other authorised users completely free of charge. Furthermore, BELSPO, the NGI and the 3 regions also teamed up for the purchase of a full coverage of Belgium over the course of 2013, which has been made available for download as well, again through Pléiades 4 Belgium.

Pléiades

Vous êtes ici

La constellation Pléiades est la composante optique du système d'observation franco-italien ORFEO (Optical and Radar Federated Earth Observation), dont l'objectif est de couvrir les besoins civils et militaires en données de télédétection haute résolution. La composante radar est assurée par la constellation COSMO-SkyMed.

Satellites jumeaux

Deux satellites Pléiades sont opérationnels : Pléiades 1A, lancé le 17 décembre 2011, et Pléiades 1B, lancé le 2 décembre 2012. Ils sont tous deux sur la même orbite à 694 km d'altitude, à 180° l’un de l’autre, ce qui leur permet d'obtenir chaque jour une couverture complète du globe.

Les deux satellites sont dotés du même instrument optique à bord : HiRI (High-Resolution Imager). Cet instrument délivre des données panchromatiques ayant une résolution de 70 cm, ré-échantillonnées au sol à 50 cm. Il acquiert en même temps des données multispectrales dans 4 bandes (bleu, vert, rouge et proche infrarouge) avec une résolution de 2,8 m, ré-échantillonnées à 2 m. La fusion de ces deux types d’images permet d'obtenir des images couleur à 50 cm de résolution.

Les données recueillies peuvent être utilisées dans de nombreuses applications : cartographie, développement urbain, agriculture, foresterie, géologie, hydrologie, milieux marins, sciences de la terre, gestion des ressources, utilisation des sols... 

Pour encourager l'utilisation de cette impressionnante source d'informations, la Politique scientifique fédérale (BELSPO) a développé un portail qui permet aux utilisateurs agréés d’acquérir des images Pléiades à tarif réduit, et de télécharger gratuitement des images déjà acquises par d'autres utilisateurs agréés. En outre, BELSPO, l'IGN et les trois régions se sont également associés pour l'acquisition d'une couverture complète de la Belgique au cours de l'année 2013, également disponible pour téléchargement sur le portail Pléiades 4 Belgium.