EUMETSAT

You are here

EUMETSAT (European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites) is an intergovernmental organisation founded in 1986. Its purpose is to supply weather and climate-related satellite data, images and products to the national Meteorological Services of its Member and Cooperating States in Europe, and other users worldwide.

Belgium has been a Member State since its founding in 1986. EUMETSAT has seen the successful launch and operation of 11 geostationary satellites and 3 polar satellites, with many more of both orbit types to come. The data are continuously acquired and distributed among its user base 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. They have proved instrumental in weather forecasting for decades, and have contributed much to the monitoring and understanding of the Earth’s climate.

Apart from purely weather and climate-driven operations, the data gathered by EUMETSAT’s satellites is also being used extensively in research: EUMETSAT has set up a SAFs (Satellite Application Facilities) network providing operational services in eight specific fields:

  1. Ocean and Sea Ice
  2. Support to Operational Hydrology and Water Management
  3. Atmospheric Composition Monitoring
  4. Numerical Weather Prediction
  5. Climate Monitoring
  6. Radio Occultation Meteorology
  7. Support to Nowcasting and Very Short Range Forecasting
  8. Land Surface Analysis

 

EUMETSAT website

EUMETSAT

Vous êtes ici

EUMETSAT (European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites ou Organisation européenne pour l'exploitation de satellites météorologiques) est une organisation intergouvernementale qui a vu le jour en 1986. Son objectif est de générer des données, images et produits satellitaires essentiels pour la météorologie et la climatologie et de les fournir aux services météorologiques nationaux de ses États membres et coopérants en Europe mais aussi à de nombreux autres utilisateurs dans le monde entier.

La Belgique est membre de l'organisation depuis sa création. EUMETSAT a lancé et exploité avec succès 11 satellites géostationnaires et 3 satellites à orbite polaire et beaucoup d'autres satellites sont programmés dans le futur. Les données sont acquises en continu et distribuées aux utilisateurs 24 heures sur 24, 365 jours par an. L'organisation joue, depuis des décennies, un rôle fondamental dans la prévision météorologique et contribue grandement à la surveillance et à la compréhension du climat. 

Outre les opérations purement météorologiques et climatiques, les données recueillies par les satellites d'EUMETSAT sont également largement utilisées pour la recherche. EUMETSAT a ainsi mis en place un réseau de SAF (« Satellite Application Facilities » ou centres d'applications satellitaires) assurant des services opérationnels dans huit domaines spécifiques:

  1. Océans et glaces de mer
  2. Hydrologie opérationnelle et gestion de l'eau
  3. Ozone et chimie atmosphérique
  4. Prévision numérique du temps
  5. Suivi climatique
  6. Météorologie à partir des données du récepteur GNSS de sondage atmosphérique
  7. Prévision immédiate et à très court terme
  8. Analyse des surfaces continentales

Des renseignements complémentaires sur les satellites d'EUMETSAT, les données et les applications, peuvent être obtenus sur le site Internet www.eumetsat.int

 

Site internet EUMETSAT