PROBA-V

You are here

PROBA-V is an ESA microsatellite from the PROBA family (Project for On-Board Autonomy with V standing for VEGETATION). It has been developed mainly by a Belgian consortium (QinetiQ Space, OIP, VITO) with a small contribution from among others Luxembourg and Canada, through the GSTP Programme of ESA.

 

A follow-up to the 17-year SPOT-VEGETATION mission

PROBA-V was initiated by Belgium as a gap filler mission between the French SPOT VEGETATION missions on board of SPOT 4 and 5 and ESA’s Sentinel 3 missions. It was designed to ensure continuity of global daily terrestrial vegetation data for the vegetation and land surface community who use the data for applications such as climate impact assessments, water resource management, deforestation, agricultural monitoring and food security estimates.

PROBA-V’s spectral channels are therefore similar to those of the SPOT VEGETATION instrument. However, benefiting from the technological developments since the SPOT-VEGETATION launch in 1998, PROBA-V spatial resolution now goes up to 100 m instead of 1 km.

PROBA-V was launched on 7 May 2013 and is planned to stay in operation until the end of 2019. The operations are jointly managed through ESA’s Earthwatch Programme and the Belgian CVB programme.

The PROBA-V data are processed and archived by CVB and can be accessed via the Product Distribution Portal.

Derived biophysical products are produced by the Copernicus Global Land Service.

PROBA-V

Vous êtes ici

PROBA-V est un microsatellite ESA de la filière PROBA (Project for On-Board Autonomy, où V est l'abréviation de VEGETATION). Il a été développé principalement par un consortium belge (Qinetiq Space, OIP, VITO) avec une petite contribution notamment du Luxembourg et du Canada via le programme GSTP de l'ESA.

A follow-up to the 17-year SPOT-VEGETATION mission

PROBA-V a été initié par la Belgique en tant que mission 'gap-filler' entre les missions françaises SPOT VEGETATION à bord des satellites SPOT 4 et 5 et les missions Sentinel 3 de l'ESA. Il a été conçu pour garantir à la communauté scientifique la continuité de fourniture de données journalières sur la végétation globale. Ces données sont utilisées pour des applications telles que les évaluations de l'impact des changements climatiques, la gestion des ressources en eau, la déforestation, le contrôle agricole et la sécurité alimentaire.

Les canaux spectraux de PROBA-V sont dès lors similaires à ceux de l'instrument SPOT VEGETATION. Toutefois, grâce aux évolutions technologiques réalisées depuis le lancement de SPOT-VEGETATION en 1998, la résolution spatiale de PROBA-V a été améliorée, passant de 1 km à 100 m. 

PROBA-V a été lancé le 7 mai 2013 et devrait être exploité jusqu'à la fin de l'année 2019. Les opérations du satellite sont gérées conjointement par le Programme Earthwatch de l'ESA et par le programme belge CVB.

Les données de PROBA-V sont traitées et archivées par le CVB et peuvent être consultées via le Portail de distribution des produits.

Les produits biophysiques dérivés de ces données sont délivrés par le Copernicus Global Land Service.